Legend (1985) Movie Review

Starring Actors:

Tom Cruise and Mia Sara

Tim Curry

Plot:

A young ‘wild-man’ must save the world, and the woman he loves, from the Lord of Darkness and his plan of killing the unicorns and plunging the world into darkness.

Thoughts:

When I first started the movie, I really didn’t know what to expect.  My boyfriend and I have recently taken to watching older movies, and have found quite a few hidden gems because of it.   So, when we started out with the movie, I had high hopes.

The movie started  out with Lily (Mia Sara) running through the woods to meet Jack (Tom Cruise) – which would’ve been extremely sweet if it weren’t for all the strange little bugs that seemed to swarm the entire set.  That wasn’t the only instance of random specs filling up the entire screen, it happened throughout the movie.  Once the bugs were gone, it was snow that took their place.

The acting was fair, though there was little starting off to help relate to the characters.  Jack was likable, as were his travelling companions.  They added a cute, comedic element to the entire story that would’ve been missing otherwise.

Lily…Lily…Lily.  This little lady, as my boyfriend stated, acted as if she were the first Kristin Stewart.  Her acting was awkward and choppy, though she looked absolutely lovely throughout the entire film.  She wasn’t as likable as Jack was.  We decided we disliked her when she told Jack whoever found her ring would marry her and then threw it over the edge of a mini-cliff! Who does that?!  The poor boy jumps over and ends up almost dying trying to get the stupid ring, all the while, the girl abandons him for dead!  Somehow that seems so wrong.  Even at the end, when he has found the ring, there is no change in the relationship.  She doesn’t mention marriage or anything, even though that was her promise.  Definitely not a fan of her.

Partway through the movie I had this strange, nagging feeling that I’d seen The Lord of Darkness before. I stewed on it for a while before finally giving into the urge and looking it up on my phone. Tim Curry. Oh my God… For the rest of the movie I couldn’t look at him without thinking of the Rocky Horror Picture Show. Every scene with him, every time he talked, all I could think was “sweet transvestite”. Totally killed the any ‘fear’ his character was supposed to inspire.

Overall, it was a decent movie.  The costuming was absolutely fantastic – especially considering the age.  The acting was alright, and there were many cute little moments tucked into the plot.

Leave a comment